Gusht

In August life gets crazy in Albania.

Right now it seems like everyone is either getting married or on vacation. The beaches are packed and the night air is thick with the sound of multiple wedding dance parties happening at once.

The past week or so has been crazy for me as well. Leslie, my sitemate for two months and Shqip-speaker and Lezhean extraordinaire, finished her service and took off for the midwest and to prepare for Peace Corps round two in Morocco…she will start there in September. It already feels so different without her here! In addition, the camp I’ve been alluding to for a while took place in a sweaty mess of heat, language barriers, and fun times with chickens and on the trampoline and climbing wall (I’ll write a longer post on this soon). Today, though barely recovered from camp, I am headed out of town for some meetings, to see my host family again and then to Korce in southern Albania for the beerfest there this weekend.

Lots of updates to come…stay tuned

Leave a comment