easter egg hunt

There’s a tradition in Albania surrounding eggs at Easter. After dyeing them, you give them to your friends and family. Then they hold onto them for a year and throw them in the river for good luck.

Yesterday I ceremoniously threw my two from last year in the river. Oddly they were very light, having lost all moisture sitting in my living room since last April. They floated away quickly – two red dots on the full and fast-flowing Drini.

Then, today, I was given six newly dyed eggs. Maybe this means my luck’s multiplying?

2 comments
  1. Lisa Hammett said:

    Laura Margaret:

    I think your friends are multiplying. congratulations. xo, Liz

  2. Lawrence F. Lihosit said:

    It’s never too early to think about the Third Goal. Check out Peace Corps Experience: Write & Publish Your Memoir. Oh! If you want a good laugh about what PC service was like in a Spanish-speaking country back in the 1970’s, read South of the Frontera: A Peace Corps Memoir.

Leave a comment